A new start for a crappy blogger

Standard

Hello World! (Thank you, WordPress.com, for supplying that salutation for me.)

After a few unsuccessful, angsty, teenage-y blogs, I am finally ready to commit! I think. I’m tempted to go into detail about who I think I am and where I am going with my life, but hopefully I can show rather than tell.

I decided to use WordPress because I’m a fan of several blogs that chose to use the same service. Also, I’m hesitant of using anything that looks remotely like Xanga. (Don’t lie — we’ve all had one.) I work for my college’s student newspaper and in the hope of getting better at, well, everything, I’m praying that this blog will make me a better writer. Not to say that I will be literally praying to God. If there’s one crucial fact about me, it’s that there is no capacity for faith in my cynical little brain.

I’m a news junkie who constantly scans websites for the latest information about this wild human species. I’m currently kind of obsessed with the Kony 2012 campaign (is it a gimmick? Is Invisible Children compromised of a bunch of yuppie hipsters, including Jason Russell who made $90,000 last year? Is the LRA even an issue in Uganda anymore? Should I be studying instead of researching this stuff?) so related content may be cropping up on here. Other obsessions include the ‘Pumped Up Kicks’ playlist on Pandora, pastel nail polish, DIY blogs and being a mother to my crazy best friend at University of Hawaii at Manoa.

It’s also the last day of school before spring break, during which time I will be going to Sammamish, Washington to stay with my boyfriend’s family. For an entire week. More on that later.

-Amy

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

